About Metlink

Metlink is the Wellington region’s high-quality public transport network of bus, train and harbour ferry service. The Metlink network has 4 rail lines, over 100 bus routes, more than 200 school bus services, and 4 harbour ferry stops.

A Total Mobility scheme provides discounted taxi fares to those people who have difficulty accessing the regular services.

Greater Wellington Regional Council contracts operators to provide most of these services. Its goal is to deliver an effective, efficient, and integrated public transport network for the people of Wellington. The Council works in partnership with the New Zealand Transport Agency to plan and fund the region’s public transport network.

Our Partners

Metlink connects people throughout the greater Wellington region, with a public transport network that stretches from Wellington north to Otaki and east to Masterton.

We work closely with the following local government agencies to deliver public transport services and infrastructure in their areas:

  • Wellington City Council
  • Hutt City Council
  • Porirua City Council
  • Upper Hutt City Council
  • Kapiti Coast District Council
  • South Wairarapa District Council
  • Carterton District Council
  • Masterton District Council

As a result of these efforts, people in greater Wellington use public transport more than people in any other city in New Zealand. In the 2012/2013 year, we boarded public transport vehicles an average of 72 times per person, over 50% more often than people in Auckland.

Customer Service

The Metlink Service Centre (0800 801 700) provides customers with a single point of contact to access timetable, fares and ticketing information and provide feedback on public transport matters. Find out more information on customer service.