Fare zones

Zone-based fares for simpler planning

All fares in the transport network are zone-based, making it simpler to plan your journey and purchase tickets. Fare zones are displayed on timetable signage at every stop and station in the network, and can be found on any stop or station's real time departure page online. You can also use the journey planner to quickly see the fare for your journey.

You can view the fare zones on our map anywhere on the homepage by selecting the checkbox to show fare zones. View or download a map of the fare zones, [PDF, 9.6 MB] or read below for a description of each of the fare zones and boundaries.

Fare zone areas and boundaries

Zone 1

Wellington central city including Thorndon, Te Aro, Aro Valley, Mt Victoria and Oriental Bay

Zone 2

Kaiwharawhara, Wadestown, Mairangi, Wilton, Northland, Kelburn, Highbury, Brooklyn, Kowhai Park, Kingston, Vogeltown, Berhampore, Newtown, Wellington Hospital, Hataitai, Mt Victoria Lookout and Roseneath

Zone 3

The remaining suburbs in Wellington City: Maupuia, Miramar, Seatoun, Strathmore, the Airport, Rongotai, Lyall Bay, Southgate, Houghton Bay, Island Bay, Owhiro Bay and Happy Valley, Karori, Crofton Downs, Ngaio, Awarua Street, Simla Crescent, Box Hill, Khandallah, Ngauranga, Broadmeadows, Raroa, Newlands, Johnsonville, Paparangi, Grenada Village, and Churton Park.

Zone 4

Takapu Road, Redwood, Tawa, Linden, Korokoro, Maungaraki, Normandale, Harbourview, Tirohanga, Melling, Boulcott, Hutt Central, Queensgate, Alicetown, Petone, Ava, Woburn, Moera, Waiwhetu, Waterloo, Gracefield, Seaview and Hutt Hospital

Zone 5

Porirua, Elsdon, Titahi Bay, Waitangirua, Ascot Park, Papakowhai, Kenepuru, Kelson, Belmont, Pomare, Taita,  Wingate, Naenae, Epuni, Fairfield, Wainuiomata, Point Howard, and Mahina Bay.

Zone 6

Whitby, Mana, Plimmerton, Manor Park, Silverstream, Stokes Valley, and Heretaunga

Zone 7

Pukerua Bay, Muri, Emerald Hill, Totara Park, Timberlea, Upper Hutt, Wallaceville and Trentham

Zone 8

Paekakariki, Te Marua, and Maymorn

Zone 9

Raumati, Raumati South, Paraparaumu, and Paraparaumu Beach

Zone 10

Waikanae and Waikanae Beach

Zone 11

Peka Peka on the west coast and Featherston in the Wairarapa

Zone 12

Te Horo on the west coast, and Woodside and Greytown in the Wairarapa

Zone 13

Otaki and Otaki Beach on the west coast, Carterton, Matarawa and Martinborough in the Wairarapa

Zone 14

The final zone covers Masterton in the Wairarapa, including Masterton Station, Renall Street Station and Solway Station

Last published: Wednesday, January 26, 2022 at 6:04 PM