Take a closer look at the refreshed Metlink website

Please refer to the latest COVID-19 updates

More affordable fares for tertiary students

girls and beehive newsletter croppedIf you’re an eligible full-time tertiary student you will receive a 25% discount off the peak adult Snapper or single 10-Trip Ticket fare on Metlink bus, rail and ferry services at all times. This doesn't apply to cash fares or monthly rail passes.

To get the 25% discount on buses you must apply for the concession and have it loaded on your Snapper card. Hit the button below and answer a few questions and you will be on your way to cheaper bus trips!

Apply for tertiary concession on your Snapper card NOW (external link)

If you have any privacy-related concerns about applying for your tertiary concession, check out our Tertiary Concession Privacy Statement

You're eligible to apply for a Tertiary Concession if you:

  • Are enrolled in an approved course at a tertiary education organisation authorised by Greater Wellington Regional Council to issue tertiary student concessions (see below)
  • Are a full-time student

To obtain the 25% tertiary discount you will need to meet eligibility criteria, and:

  • For bus travel, get the concession loaded on your Snapper card
  • For rail or ferry travel, get a Tertiary Concession sticker for your tertiary student photo ID from your Tertiary Education Organisation, then buy a Tertiary 10-Trip Ticket before you travel

When travelling on the Tertiary Concession you will need to keep your student ID handy and show it to Metlink staff if requested. Your concession will remain valid as long as you meet the eligibility conditions for Tertiary Concession.

The tertiary students of an approved Tertiary Education Organisation must either:

  • Be a full-time student who attends a Tertiary Education Organisation course that is: 
    • At least 12 weeks long, and 
    • Meets the minimum full-time Equivalent Full-Time Student (EFTS) value; or
  • Be a Limited Full-Time Student of the Tertiary Education Organisation who:
    • The Ministry of Social Development records as “Limited Full-Time”; and
    • For bus travel, upload satisfactory confirmation of their status via the Snapper website (external link) ; and
    • For rail and ferry travel, present satisfactory confirmation of their status to the Tertiary Education Organisation in a form acceptable to the Tertiary Education Organisation

The TEO must:

  • Be registered with the Ministry of Education and offer courses accredited by the New Zealand Qualifications Authority; and
  • Be registered with Metlink and signed a participation agreement with Greater Wellington Regional Council; and
  • Have a Wellington region-based campus; and
  • Issue tertiary student photo ID cards to their students

This list will be updated as other tertiary education organisations sign up

  • Academy of Diving Trust
  • Animation College New Zealand Limited (Yoobee)
  • Capital Training Limited
  • Elite Management School (Wellington Campus)
  • English Language Partners New Zealand Trust
  • English Teaching College
  • Enspiral Dev Academy 
  • G&H Training Limited
  • Horowhenua Learning Centre
  • Kokiri Marae Keriana Olsen Trust
  • Le Cordon Bleu New Zealand
  • Massey University
  • New Zealand College of Massage
  • New Zealand Management Academies
  • New Zealand School of Acupuncture and Traditional Chinese Medicine
  • New Zealand School of Dance
  • New Zealand School of Tourism Limited
  • NZLC – New Zealand Language Centres
  • Otago Polytechnic
  • Premier Institute of Education
  • Te Kōhanga Reo National Trust
  • Te Kura Toi Whakaari O Aotearoa: New Zealand Drama School Incorporated
  • Te Rito Maioha Early Childhood NZ
  • Te Wananga o Aotearoa (Wellington)
  • The Campbell Institute
  • The Learning Connexion Limited
  • Trade and Commerce Centre Limited
  • Universal College of Learning (UCOL Masterton)
  • University of Otago (Wellington)
  • UP International College New Zealand
  • Victoria University of Wellington
  • Wellington Institute of Technology
  • Whitecliffe Fashion
  • Whitecliffe Technology
  • Whitireia Community Polytechnic
  • Youth Cultures and Community Trust (Praxis)

How do I apply for the Tertiary Concession?

For Metlink bus travel

Metlink is working with approved Tertiary Education Organisations to contact students via email to explain how to get the Tertiary Concession online. If you do not receive an email, then as long as you belong to one of the above approved Tertiary Education Organisations, you can simply apply for a Tertiary Concession online. (external link)

For Metlink rail and ferry travel

Visit the Student Services team at your tertiary education organisation to apply for a Tertiary Concession sticker to attach to your current tertiary student photo ID.

Travelling with a Tertiary Concession

MetLink Buses DSC0132 132 HR3When you travel on a Metlink bus with a Tertiary Concession, you must:

  • Use a Snapper Card (with a pre-loaded valid Tertiary Concession) and present your valid tertiary student photo ID to the bus driver, if requested

When you travel on a Metlink Train or ferry, you must:

  • Use a valid Tertiary 10-Trip Ticket and present your valid tertiary Student photo ID with a valid Tertiary Concession sticker 

To find out what your journey with the Tertiary concession looks like and costs, please use our Journey Planner. If you have a MyMetlink account you can specify “Tertiary” as a fare preference and this will show the Tertiary Concession fare each time you plan your trip. Sign up to MyMetlink.

The Tertiary Concession is not available on the following services:

  • Metlink After Midnight buses: N1, N2, N22, N3, N4, N5, N6, N66, N8, N88
  • School buses
  • Buses that Metlink does not run: Airport Flyer (91); non Metlink commuter services 80, 90, 92, 93