bus with ears

In July 2018 we made some major changes to Wellington’s bus transport network. This involved creating a more efficient network design (routes, bus stops and timetables), high-frequency routes and more services, more effective transfers and some improved off-peak services (especially at weekends).

As with any project of this size, it’s usual to review outcomes to check how we did, what we learned and what still needs to happen. A post implementation review was commissioned and undertaken by L.E.K Consulting Australia in December 2018. This review recommended a number of changes and a team has been brought together to work on implementing the next steps. By far the largest part of this programme is a review of the bus network design - to look at what works well and what changes may need to be made.

Since then we have gone back to the Wellington community to ask their views on what needs to change. Starting in the Eastern suburbs of Wellington, we have asked bus customers what could be improved and have engaged with interested customers across the city through a range of activities including focus groups, public drop-in workshops and online surveys.

The Bus Network Review has run from July to September 2019 and has been very generously supported by bus customers. Thank you to everyone who has contributed to the Bus Network Review.

The constructive feedback given on what works and what doesn’t has been used to inform a set of network recommendations that will be phased in over three years. Metlink has listened, developed a package of recommended network improvements, and laid out a time-lined action plan to deliver and/or consider the recommended developments and improvements.

We know many people have been negatively impacted by the July 2018 changes and the recommendations and associated actions seek to address all known issues over time.

The review recommendations and associated action plan went before Council in December 2019.There are plans to look at how we will connect with the rest of the Wellington region in 2020. This will include Porirua, Hutt Valley, Kapiti Coast and Wairarapa.

Sign up for bus network review updates (external link)

Important bus review reports and releases

Read the Metlink BNR Recommendations and Action Plan Summary PDF - 1.4 MB

Read the GW Regional Council paper Dec 2019 PDF - 1.6 MB

Read the Metlink BNR Recommendations Report PDF - 4.3 MB

Read the Metlink Wellington City Bus Network Action Plan PDF - 581 KB

Read the BNR Report media release PDF - 335 KB

Research company, Research First, worked with us to run the in-person drop-in workshops, focus groups and charrettes (large focus groups) across the city. In addition, we ran two on-line feedback surveys to gather customer insights to inform the development of the review recommendations and associated action plan.

Read the Research First Summary Report PDF - 5.9 MB

Read the Research First Detail report PDF - 7.5 MB

Read the Online Feedback Survey Eastern suburbs - detail PDF - 11 MB

Read the Online Feedback Survey Whole of city - detail PDF - 2 MB

These reports were tabled with the Greater Wellington Regional Council Sustainable Transport Committee (STC) in September 2019.

Read the Research First Eastern Suburbs September 2019 Summary Report PDF - 4.4 MB

Read the STC September 2019 Update Report (click on STC agenda item 9 to view) PDF - 2 MB

Read the Eastern suburbs update media release

In 2018 after the July 2018 changes, L.E.K. Consulting (L.E.K.) was engaged to undertake an independent review of the implementation of the Wellington City and Hutt Valley bus networks to determine the effectiveness in delivering:

  • The objectives of the Wellington Regional Public Transport Plan
  • Levels of service that meet the needs of Wellington City and Hutt Valley communities

Read the LEK Consulting Australia Pty Ltd Post Implementation Review PDF - 689 KB

Read the LEK media release